Peace Party

Thanks to our friends, supporters, and community leaders for making our 6th Annual Peace Party a great success!

And a special thanks to long-time supporter Alex Alexander for sponsoring this year’s Peace Party!

On Wednesday, October 24, the Topeka Center for Peace and Justice hosted Alexander’s Ragtime Peace Party, gathering together friends old and new to honor the 2018 recipients of the Peace Awards:

Youth Peace Builder Award
Drew Blackman
Organization Peace Builder Award
Justice and Unity Ministry Project (Topeka JUMP) Shanae Holman Executive Director
Religious Organization Peace Builder Award
New Mt Zion Missionary Baptist Chuch – Rev. Delmar White
Media Peace Builder Award
WIBW Wednesday’s Child – Lori Hutchinson
Education Peace Builder Award
Washburn University’s – Learning in the Community LinC—Dr. Rick Ellis
Individual Peace Builder Award
Steve and Dorthy Halley
Lifetime Peace Builder Achievement Award
Curtis Pitts

You can read a brief WIBW news story about award recipients by clicking here.

The Peace Party is an opportunity to tell our community about our mission and purpose, and to invite all who share our passion to join in the quest for peace and justice.

We hope to see you next years! Stay tuned for details!